Kepler’s Coffee House

Welcome To Kepler’s Coffee House

… where you can follow my journey as an Indie author. You will find tips and resources to help you as you write, publish and chase your dreams are a writer or poet.

Jimmie Aaron Kepler
Writer & Poet Jimmie Aaron Kepler

Howdy, I’m Jimmie Aaron Kepler. I’m an author and poet, just like you. On Kepler’s Coffee house I share my own lessons from my writing journey.

Why do I call it Kepler’s Coffee House?

Each morning for the last decade I have been getting up before sunrise and driving to my favorite coffee house to write.

  • I get there about 6 AM Monday through Friday.
  • I order a tall blonde roast coffee, retire to the same table and write for an hour.
  • I then pack up my laptop and head to my day job.
  • I give my first hour of the day to my writing.
  • This way I write before the worries and cares of the day distract me.
  • On Saturday I follow the same routine except I usually write for three hours and then go for a morning walk.

Over the years I have written three novels, dozens of short stories, over fifty magazine articles, and hundreds of poems following this schedule.

I have also made many mistakes. I want to share my journey to encourage you.

  • If I can do it you can do it.
  • I also want to try and save you time, money and heartache by sharing the lessons I have learned during my journey.

I have been traditionally published as well as self-published over the years. I sold my first magazine article way back in 1981. It appeared in the September 1982 issue of a Life Christian Resources magazine. I was paid 2 1/2 cents a word for the 1500 article. I received a check for $37.50 for the nonfiction piece.

I still am chasing my dream which is to transition to writing full time.

Curious about me? If you want to know more about me and my journey click the photo.


About Jimmie Aaron Kepler

Meet me each Friday at Kepler’s Coffee House to join me on my journey.

Happy writing!

Author: Jimmie Aaron Kepler, Ed.D.

Jimmie Aaron Kepler is a full-time writer. He was born in San Antonio, Texas, to a career military father and stay at home mother. He lived in six states and attended eight different schools before graduating high school. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in History with minors in English and Military Science from The University of Texas at Arlington, Master of Arts and Master of Religious Education degrees from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, as well as the Doctor of Education degree. Before writing full-time, he worked as a US Army officer for 10-years, religious educator for 18-years, and as an IT software application engineer for over 20-years. He is a widower. He lives in North Texas with his cat Lacey.