Kepler's Coffee House

Home » Blogging » Review: A Requiem for Love

Review: A Requiem for Love

Requiem of Love“A Requiem for Love” by Calvin Miller is a dramatic work in the tradition of Milton’s Paradise Lost and J. R. R. Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings” Trilogy.

With A Requiem for Love, the first book in the “Symphony Trilogy”, Calvin Miller displays the strength of his voice and the clarity of his vision. It is a story of fallen love, of impossible dreams and ancient longings, of frustrated ambition and a love so strong that it endures forever.  The first volume of his Symphony trilogy retells the Genesis story.

Miller has a poetic pen. It is on display as he plays off the images of light and darkness. It evokes a poignant picture of the love of power and the power of love.

The original drawings and distinctive page styling make the book a work of art from cover to cover. This is Miller at his best.  I read the book originally when it was first released in 1989.  Read and reviewed by Jimmie A. Kepler.


1 Comment

  1. Missriete says:

    I read this in Dutch decades ago, gave it away and regret that deeply. I definitely have to read it in English now 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: