Review: A Requiem for Love

Requiem of Love“A Requiem for Love” by Calvin Miller is a dramatic work in the tradition of Milton’s Paradise Lost and J. R. R. Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings” Trilogy.

With A Requiem for Love, the first book in the “Symphony Trilogy”, Calvin Miller displays the strength of his voice and the clarity of his vision. It is a story of fallen love, of impossible dreams and ancient longings, of frustrated ambition and a love so strong that it endures forever.  The first volume of his Symphony trilogy retells the Genesis story.

Miller has a poetic pen. It is on display as he plays off the images of light and darkness. It evokes a poignant picture of the love of power and the power of love.

The original drawings and distinctive page styling make the book a work of art from cover to cover. This is Miller at his best.  I read the book originally when it was first released in 1989.  Read and reviewed by Jimmie A. Kepler.

Author: Jimmie Aaron Kepler, Ed.D.

Jimmie Aaron Kepler is a full-time writer. He was born in San Antonio, Texas, to a career military father and stay at home mother. He lived in six states and attended eight different schools before graduating high school. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in History with minors in English and Military Science from The University of Texas at Arlington, Master of Arts and Master of Religious Education degrees from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, as well as the Doctor of Education degree. Before writing full-time, he worked as a US Army officer for 10-years, religious educator for 18-years, and an IT software application engineer for over 20-years. He lives in North Texas.

One thought on “Review: A Requiem for Love”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s